BALA Awards Now Open

Now in its 38th year, the Best in American Living™ Awards (BALA Awards) is the building industry’s premier residential design awards program. The BALA Awards spotlight the most creative and talented building industry professionals who have redefined design excellence for homes and communities across North America.

The BALA Awards are NAHB’s only design program. BALA Award winners exemplify the best of the best and are showcased throughout the year in Design Bites, webinars, press conferences, and the International Builders’ Show, as well as in Professional Builder’s family of magazines, the official media partner of the BALA Awards.

Review the list of categories and eligibility requirements for applicants. Some categories have additional requirements, which will be listed with the specific category. Categories are divided into eight broad categories: single-family production or builder spec; custom homes; multifamily; affordable; remodeling; communities; interior design; and specialty (unique categories, like design detail and healthy home).

Review the judging criteria by category. Remember: the BALA Awards are a design awards program, and judging criteria is design-focused, including criteria like floor plans, materiality, site plans, etc.

Learn about program fees, the application process, important dates, and other frequently asked questions.

Thank you to our Supporters

Media Partner

Discover more from Best In American Living

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading