2017 Best in American Living Awards – now accepting entries!

The 2017 Best in American Living Awards is accepting entries now through 11:59 PM on September 1, 2017. Apply now!

The Best in American Living™ Awards (BALA) is the building industry’s premier residential design awards program. BALA spotlights the most creative and talented building industry professionals who have redefined design excellence for homes and communities nationally and internationally. Winning projects showcase what building industry professionals need to know to set their product apart and hit the right mark with today’s highly educated and discerning home buyers.

New this year

55+ categories now appear in single-family production, multifamily, and community in an effort to better recognize this market.

Interior Design categories have been expanded. Although interior design is part of the judging process for most categories, interior design categories give designers an opportunity to showcase specific rooms and details within the home. Categories now include custom and production categories. Check out the list of categories here.

International projects can be entered into the new Category 51: International Housing.

The Game Changer category description has been updated to provide better clarity to applicants:

Submissions should showcase innovation and have the ability to significantly influence the residential design and housing industry over the next five years. Both individual projects and products are eligible to receive this award, including but not limited to new home design concepts, new types of site development, and innovations in products and interior design. Submissions must enhance the experience of residents. As an example, the 2016 Game Changer is Centriq.

All applicants, regardless of winning status, are eligible to be featured in the blog.

Year-round recognition

Winners will be celebrated at the 2018 International Builders’ Show (IBS) and will receive an engraved crystal trophy. Other benefits of winning include:

Enter today!



Featured image: Swann Wynd Bridge House, 2016 Home of the Year
Architect/Designer | Rhinehart Pulliam & Company
Builder | Bynum Custom Homes
Interior Designer | J. Hirsch Interior Design, The Design Atelier, Robert Brown Interior Design, Y. McFadden, LLC, J. Wheeler Designs, HMS Designs, KMH Interiors, Harrison Design Associates, J. Witzel Design, Mark Williams Design Assoc. and Melanie Davis Design
Developer | Serenbe Development
Land Planner | Rhinehart Pulliam & Company
Photography | Emily Jenkins Followill Photographer and Gabriel Benzur Photographer



Thank you to our Supporters

Media Partner

Discover more from Best In American Living

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading